1. Myrtle Beach Golf Packages
  2. Golf Blog
  3. Peter Jacobsen Wins 2013 Stewart Award


Peter Jacobsen has been named the 2013 winner of the Payne Stewart Award.

The Payne Stewart Award is presents annually to a professional golfer who best exemplifies the values of character, charity and sportsmanship. The past winners have all distinguished themselves through their respect for the game, the Tour’s tradition of charity and their ability to make a positive difference in the lives of others.  Stewart, an 11-time winner on the PGA Tour and World Golf Hall of Fame member, died tragically the week of the Tour Championship.

Jacobsen, 59, made his PGA Tour debut in 1977 and won seven times during his career.  Jacobsen also collected 10 other victories, participated on four national teams and has won twice on the Champions Tour.

Previous winners of the Payne Stewart Award are as follows:

2000---Byron Nelson- Jack Nicklaus-Arnold Palmer

2001---Ben Crenshaw

2002---Nick Price

2003---Tom Watson

2004---Jay Haas

2005---Brad Faxon

2006---Gary Player

2007---Hal Sutton

2008---Davis Love III

2009---Kenny Perry

2010---Tom Lehman

2011---David Toms

2012---Steve Stricker